Lets Talk Dresses

I love baking. I make decadent dessert recipes and I make healthy ones. The cookies I have been enjoying is definitely on the healthier side.

IMG_2840a

Eating cookies is not the healthiest food you can eat, but if you can make them healthier and still taste good, this is how I imagine they would taste.

IMG_2828a

These cookies are moist but without any butter, the texture are more cake-like. The recipe is adapted from Tina’s recipe.

They are light. They are fluffy. They are not too sweet.

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Dry Ingredients:

  • 1 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder

Wet Ingredients:

  • ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • ½ tsp coconut extract (optional)
  • 2 tbsp canola oil
  • 1/3 cup liquid egg whites
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • ¼ cup sweetened coconut flakes (optional)

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350*F.
  • Mix dry ingredients with wet ingredients. Mix well until batter is blended evenly.
  • Use a tablespoon to portion cookies and roll batter into a ball before placing it on a greased baking sheet, approximately 1-2 inches apart.
  • Bake cookies for 10-12 minutes.
  • Remove cookies from baking sheet and allow to cool on wire rack.

I made half a batch without any coconut and just with chocolate chip cookies. They are both good. The batch with coconut just has extra texture and crunch.

IMG_2825a

Lets Talk Dresses

Lets talk dresses shall we? I love wearing dresses and I like to play dress up. I wear business style clothes for work so every chance I get, for example on the weekend or at social events, I like to wear something more feminine and more fun.

I got a few emails regarding the dresses I wear and where I shop? Well, I like to shop for bargains. Because I know there are always sales and promotions going on, I hate to pay full price for clothes. I hardly ever buy something at full price. After you buy most of your wardrobe on discount, it’s hard to go back to paying full retail.

One of my favorite brand for dresses is Arden B. All the dresses below are from Arden B., and I bought them all at a discount. They were either on sale, found at clearance racks, or at sample sale.

 

 

IMG_3186a

IMG_0622

IMG_1762a

IMG_2331

I hope this helps a little for those who would like to start shopping for spring dresses. Bargain, bargain, bargain! Internet is your friend when it comes to bargain shopping.

Comments

  1. I mean seriously…you aren’t a model? How tall are you? I’m guessing that’s why 🙂

  2. I ❤ baking too and cookies are probably my favorite baked good to make! I think I could bake all day long. You do have some ADORABLE dresses. Arden B is a great store. I'm the same way- I never pay full price anymore, not worth it!

    • I know you love cookies and baking, hope that’s a trait that will get passed on to the little darling you have on the way 🙂 Reading your yummy recipes make me crave sweets 🙂

  3. I love the floral dresses…adorable! Arden B and BCBG are my two dress brands.

    Those cookies are amazing-would it be considered healthy if I ate the entire batch?

    • I don’t think it’s healthy to eat the whole batch in one sitting but if you must, lol!

      BUT it’s definitely healthier than _________ (fill in the blanks) something you buy from the store.

  4. Those cookies look fabulous!!!!!!
    I love all of the dresses, especially the two-toned one with pink on top and a black skirt! =D

    • Thank you, that’s one of my favorites too, the stretchy fabric is so comfortable. Sit, walk, stand and dance all night , it will survive!

      I wore it on a red carpet event in Las Vegas and I didn’t feel so out of place, lol!

  5. I love desserts. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I will surely try this out.

    Take the Dessert Personality Test and find out your personality on the basis of your favorite dessert. I have taken the test and have enjoyed a lot. Hope you too will enjoy it. Have Fun!!

  6. Yum! Those cookies look amazing!

    Those dresses are so pretty!! I definitely am going to have to check out Arden B for their sales!

  7. You look so pretty! I love all of your dresses, Lea.

  8. Super cute dresses. 🙂 And I definitely will be trying that cookie recipe–they look delicious!!

  9. I have a super fabulous dress from Arden B. Must find an occassion to wear it out again!

    Love you choices!

    • hello, miss shoe queen 🙂 I want to see your dress. Let me see! Let me see!

      Maybe we can get really dressed up for that imaginary trip we are going to make in Sonoma for my birthday 🙂 We should do a virtual dress party!

  10. i just made chocolate chip cookies on Sunday too, i made the unhealthy version though. 😉 yours look delicious! love all your dresses, i can’t wait for spring so i can wear all my dresses again.

  11. Annette (Defiant Vegan) says:

    Those cookies look so good. Yummy.

    There’s so many inexpensive magazines that I get with cute clothes that are pretty much decent.

    Cute Dresses and who wants to pay full price on anything. I totally agree with you.

    😛

  12. Cute dresses!!

  13. You look gorgeous in every dress! I love that you can carry off Arden B stuff – I totally can’t. I’m too tall for their stuff and it ends up looking terrible on me for some reason? I don’t get it. And it saddens me. 😦

    The cookies look fantastic!

    • Thanks Ameena with your sweet comment 🙂 Arden B dresses fit my frame, I’m 5’3 so their styles are flattering but they have some long dresses where I had to get it hemmed a few inches off.

      I can see if you’re tall like your height, that the dresses might fit too short? But then, you have so many more options when it comes with dress shopping. I wish I can be your personal shopper, I’ll throw in babysitting for Maya too.

  14. I’m that way with BCBG MaxAzria! 🙂 I load up on dresses every time I get a chance to swing by the outlet.

    • Suki, i love BCBG MaxAria dresses too, maybe I’ll post dresses from that brand in the future. You have an outlet near you? So lucky! I buy mine at Nordstrom or Nordstrom Rack, but there’s an outlet about 60 miles south from near San Diego.

  15. Looks like a great cookie recipe! 🙂

    And you have some super cute dresses!

  16. CUTE – I truly haven’t been in Arden B in too long – I used to go there and Bebe and then both got a little weird for me. HOWEVER – I would borrow/steal/buy all of these dresses so I must return to Arden B – thanks!

  17. So cute- I love all the dresses, especially the first one.

    I like Arden B too- they have a lot of fun pieces and are fairly reasonably priced.

  18. those dresses are fabulous!!! Love them!

  19. I love wearing dresses! I don’t have a lot of occasions to wear fancy dresses, but I have a lot of casual ones I wear everywhere 🙂

  20. Hotchick says:

    Gosh you’re so gorgeous, do alot of guys check u out? Oh and, where/when are the samples sales? I’m in Cerritos. Thanks!

  21. I love dresses…In spring/summer its all I wear! I do love Arden B and also LuLus! They have great prices on things 🙂

  22. You really do have the cutest dresses!
    I think I’ll be trying out those cookies… 🙂

  23. i made chocolate chip cookies today too…but a must less healthy version than yours. i am SO excited to be able to wear dresses again.

  24. Love the dresses! And, healthy cookies are always great..in moderation!

  25. I am making these cookies tonight. I hope you don’t mind if I post a link to your site for the recipe. These are right up my alley! If you use a little less egg, it won’t be as cake-ey if you don’t like that texture. You should also check out Maggie Sottero’s dresses. They are waaaay affordable, and have an expensive look & feel.

    xo
    Mindy

    • Mindy, I was thinking that too, that next time I would lessen the egg and maybe the baking powder too. The cookies rise really high and fluffy.

      I found my dress already, it’s on my wedding page. I am wearing a Justin Alexander wedding gown. BUT when I was starting to look for dresses, Maggie Sotero was one of the designers I was looking into. I liked the design of her dresses, so feminine. The bridal salon I went to here in Orange County didn’t carry her dresses.

      I am in love with my dress and I’m so excited to wear it. I’m going to wear it at least 3 times 🙂 The wedding, TTD session and maybe a welcome home reception.

Trackbacks

  1. […] Lets Talk Dresses ½ tsp vanilla extract; ½ tsp coconut extract (optional); 2 tbsp canola oil; 1/3 cup liquid egg whites; 1/2 cup chocolate chips; ¼ cup sweetened coconut flakes (optional). Directions: Preheat oven to 350*F. Mix dry ingredients with wet . […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.